2015 Tournament report

Started by Denis Cannon

< Back to forum topics

You must be logged in to reply on this topic.

Reply Message
Denis Cannon
Tue 31 Mar '15 @ 8:37am

The 2015 Canterbury Closed Tournament took place on Sunday and now has a new mens singles winner, Ray Jordan beating the number one seed Phil Thomas in a thrilling five set encounter. There was some consolation for Phil in the open doubles though when he and partner Barry Chapman beat John Ferguson and Mike Howard in an all Hoath final.

The ladies singles was won by the number one seed, Tina Stewart, but she had to fight hard to overcome league newcomer Michelle Kingsland in the final.

Playing for the first time in the vets singles Martin Hewitt overcame previous winner Ian Mileham to take the title and in the new Under 40 event David Jeavons beat 16 year old Connor Russell to become the first winner of this title.

The ladies doubles was played as a round robin event but with the three pairs each winning one game it had to be decided on ends won. Tina Stewart and Zurafa Sakel had won five ends as had Linda Wickings and Jill Weaver so the title was decided on the head to head result between the two pairs giving Linda Wickings and Jill Weaver the title.

The mixed doubles was won by Dave Jeavons and Tina Stewart beating Ray Jordan and Jenny Hogben in straight sets and in the over 60’s event the number one seed Barry Chapman beat the number two seed Arthur Martin.

The Division 1 event was an all warriors final with Jake Coombes beating unseeded Adam Dyer to take the title for the first time, one of the title favourites Harry Law having been beaten earlier by his Faversham team mate Ethan Braden.

Nicolas Waters is the new Division 2 title winner beating Michelle Kingsland in a tightly fought final and in an all Choughs final, Jenny Hogben beat Joe Asmah to take the Division 3 title.

The Division 4 trophy also has a new name on it, Zurafa Sakel beating Josie Prowse in four sets.

There were some notable wins on the day from players who beat higher ranked opponents, probably the best of these from Division one players Harry Law and Bob Edwards. Harry beat previous mens singles winner Ron Rowley in the singles and then Premier Division player Ben Greenwood in the under 40 event while Bob beat two Premier Division players, Nick Mayes in the mens singles and Paul Waumsley in the over 60’s event.

Overall the tournament was very well run and had a much earlier finish than most years, partly aided by the introduction of an under 40’s event and the removal of the vets doubles event, but Simon Hillier should be commended for his organizational skills in making the day so successful.

Denis Cannon

Remember me and or Register