Tournament report 2013

Started by Denis Cannon

< Back to forum topics

You must be logged in to reply on this topic.

Reply Message
Denis Cannon
Sun 17 Mar '13 @ 10:03pm

The Canterbury and District Table Tennis Closed tournament took place last Sunday with a total entry of 66 players but with so many top players having entered the mens singles it was never going to be easy to predict the winner. The top four seeds were the current title holder Barry Chapman, Ray Jordan at number two and Martin Hewitt and Keith Yarnley numbers three and four respectively. It’s an indication of the strength of the entry that previous title winners like Ron Rowley, Peter Roberts and Ian Mileham were unable to make it into the top four seeded places. One of the more interesting draws of the day was the first round match between league chairman Arthur Martin against Jack Cannon from division 4, with a 60 year age gap between the two. In the event experience overcame youth and Arthur won in four sets.

As usual with tournaments the seedings didn’t work out as planned and the final was contested between Hoath’s Phil Thomas and Ray Jordan of Iron Room. The match itself was of the highest quality with both players using their powerful topspin loops to great effect but it was the more consistent Thomas who became the 2013 Mens Singles Champion winning in four sets.

The ladies singles event had just two seeds with Faversham’s Tina Stewart seeded one and Warrior’s much improved Linda Wickings two and they each justified their seedings by meeting in the final where Tina’s all round game proved too strong for her opponent, winning in straight sets and retaining her title.

In the mens doubles the two top seeded pairs were the Herne Bay pair and current title holders Ron Rowley and Pete Roberts who were seeded to face the number two seeds Iron Room’s Ray Jordan and Russell Bates in the final. However in a high quality field the unfancied pairing of Andy Roberts and Lee Edgington made it through to the final where they lost to the number one seeds, Rowley and Roberts.

The ladies doubles event proved a reasonably comfortable win for for top seeds Tina Stewart and Linda Denny who saw off the challenge of Warriors pair Linda Wickings and Jill Weaver in a three set victory.

In the mixed doubles the top seeds and current title holders Barry Chapman and Linda Wickings were seeded to meet Tina Stewart and David Jeavons in the final but with Barry suffering on the day from tennis elbow problems the final was contested between the number one seeds and the Choughs pairing of Jenny Hogben and Chris Hooper with Stewart and Jeavons running out winners in a close match.

The Vets Singles included two of the top seeds from the mens singles and is an indication of how strong the over 40’s competition has become. The seeds were Barry Chapman, Keith Yarnley, Ian Mileham and Russell Bates but Hoath player Mike Howard won through to the final where he met Ian Mileham. It was a hard fought game with Howard’s hard bat attacking game against the topspin of Ian Mileham and it was Mileham who won a hard fought victory in four sets.

There were four seeded pairs too in the Vets Doubles with top seeds Ron Rowley and Pete Roberts scheduled to meet Derek Brown and Lee Edgington in one semi-final and Chris Hearn and Mike Howard seeded to meet the new pairing of Barry Chapman and Denis Cannon in the other semi. In one of the upsets of the day it was the veteran pairing of Roy Coles and Chris Hooper who met Rowley and Roberts in the first semi final and in an incredibly tight match the number one seeds Rowley and Roberts won the game at deuce in the fifth set and in the other semi final Chapman and Cannon lost in three sets to Howard and Hearn. The final itself was a close encounter but Rowley and Roberts managed to retain their title winning in four sets.

In the over 60’s event the holder Denis Cannon was seeded three with Chris Hooper of Choughs seeded one and league chairman and losing finalist last year, Arthur Martin, seeded two. However Chris Hooper lost to Tina Stewart in the quarter final and Arthur Martin lost in the second round to Roy Coles who was having an excellent tournament. The final was contested between Cannon and Coles and despite losing the first two sets Cannon managed to hold off the attack of Coles to retain his title, winning in the fifth set.

The Division one singles had Denis Cannon seeded one and Simon Lee seeded two but Ian Blogg beat Simon Lee in the semi final and went on to beat Denis Cannon in four sets in the final with a fine display of attacking shots that Cannon was unable to counter.

In the Division 2 singles the top seeds were Ricky Kay from Blue Lawn and Faversham’s Tina Stewart seeded two and true to the seeding they met in the final with Ricky Kay winning in straight sets.

The Division 3 singles event had Dennis Hill seeded at one and Chough’s Jenny Hogben seeded two but it was Warriors Adam Dyer who reached the final losing to number one seed Hill in straight sets.

In the Division 4 singles Jonathan Nevitt met Alan Culver in the final and continuing his fine league form won in straight sets.

Denis Cannon

Remember me and or Register