Tournament Report 2010

Started by Mebs Virani

< Back to forum topics

You must be logged in to reply on this topic.

Reply Message
Mebs Virani
Thu 01 Apr '10 @ 10:15pm

The Annual Canterbury Closed Tournament took place on Sunday 21st March with players taking part in 14 events.

The Open Singles,formerly the Mens Singles, saw top seed,Ian Mileham,negotiate his way to the quarter final with a 4 set win over John Glass.His opponent was Johnny Bishpam,who had earlier disposed of 4th seed,James Glass in 4 sets and then fought out an exhilarating 5 setter with 5th seed,Ashleigh Shaw,before winning 11-5 in the decider.Mileham brought his opponent’s run to an end with a 3 set win to book his spot in the final.The other finalist was 3rd seed,Peter Roberts,who reached the semi-final with a straight sets win over Alan Taylor,then put out the holder,Phil Morford in 3 sets.The final began with a close first set going the way of Roberts,who then followed it up with a 11-4 win.Mileham staged a fight back in the third,but Roberts edged it 17-15 in the third to claim the Open Singles title without dropping a set in all his games.

The Mens Doubles saw holders,Lee Edgington and Phil Morford,take on Ron Rowley and Peter Roberts. The holders had come through an awkward 5 set game against Tim Lam and Mike Lee,winning 11-9 in the decider while Rowley and Roberts had put out John and James Glass.The holders swept to a 11-4 win in the first set,but the challengers came back 11-7 in the second. The third set went to the holders,11-9 and they held off Rowley and Roberts challenge in the 4th set to win 11-8 and retain the title.

The ladies singles event was run on a round robin basis,with 5 ladies competing.Heather Robertson won her first 3 encounters but not before was extended to 5 sets by both Linda Wickings and Pauline Howard.Tina Stewart had a more comfortable opening 3 games,losing only one set to Howard. Mrs Stewart won the final comfortably over Mrs Robertson in 3 sets to retain the title.

The ladies doubles final saw Robertson and Howard team up to see off the challenge of Jill Weaver and Linda Wickings in 3 sets.

In the mixed doubles event Linda and John Wickings took out Heather Robertson and Darren McCulloch-Smith in the quarter-final over 4 sets but lost to Peter Roberts and Pauline Howard in the semi-finals while Tina Stewart and Johnny Bishpam put out Jill Weaver and John Metcalfe for a place in the final. Howard and Roberts made a bright start,winning 11-9,losing 6-11 and then taking the third,14-12.Stewart and Bishpam fought back to level the match and took the final set,11-5, to take the title.

The Under 21’s Singles competition was run on a round robin system between 5 players.James Glass came through his first 3 matches comfortably,while Johnny Bishpam needed 4 sets to overcome both Jake Coombes and Jack Stewart. The final saw Glass romp into a 2 set lead,lose the third,but steady himself to beat Bishpam in the 4th to take the title.
The Under 21’s doubles final was a straight sets win for Johnny Bishpam and James Glass over Jake Coombes and Josh Algar

More reports from the tournament next week.

At the Annual tournament the Veteran Singles produced no shocks until the quarter-final stage when John Glass came back from two sets down to pull off a 5th set win,11-7,against Peter Roberts.In the semi-finals,Ian Mileham eased past Ron Rowley in straight sets,and holder Phil Morford looked set for his second successive final,leading Glass 2-0,but again the latter dug deep to carve out a 12-10 win in the final set. The final failed to reach expectation,with Mileham totally in control against a shattered Glass and romping to a straight sets win.

In the Veterans doubles, second seeds,Lee Edgington and Roger Jordan,went out in the quarter-finals to Tim Lam and Mike Lee but they in turn lost to Dennis Cannon and Chris Hearn,while top seeds,Peter Roberts and Ron Rowley,eased their way comfortably to the final. The top seeds went into a two set lead in the final and,although Cannon and Hearn rallied in the third set they were eclipsed in the 4th set,giving Roberts and Rowley the doubles title.

In the divisional singles,the Division 4 final was contested by two of the most exciting young prospects that the league has seen for many years. Josh Algar faced team colleague,Jake Coombes in a match that saw Algar in control and seeing off Coombes’s challenge in 3 sets.

The Division 3 competition saw finalists,Clive Curnick and John Metcalfe,ease their way into the final without much difficulty. Curnick moved into a two set lead but Metcalfe hit back to claim the third.Curnick turned up the heat in the 4th set with a 11-2 win and the title.

The final of the Division 2 competition featured Ricky Kay against Paul Davies.In the earlier rounds,Kay had to bring out his best retrieving table tennis to thwart the challenge of Mike Holmes in 5 sets and needed 4 sets to see off Mick Mickletwaite in the semi-final. Davis was taken to 4 sets by Eric Cawkill before coming through but was thoroughly stretched in the semi-final by John Wickings,who took the match to a 5th set but davies pipped him,11-8. The final proved disappointing for Davies as he was unable to find a way through the defence of Kay,who won in 3 sets.

The Division 1 final saw two of the division’s in form players,Johnny Bispham and Dennis Cannon, fight their way into the final. David Cue had earlier put out Roger Jordan in 5 sets and Adam Goodall in 4 sets and lost out to Bispham in the semi-final over 5 sets,while cannon had scraped past Tim Lam in 5 sets and needed 4 sets to overcome Mike Chapman.The final saw the firepower of Bispham prove too much for the steady play of Cannon and he won in 3 sets.

The Consolation Singles,the competition for 1st round Open Singles losers,saw Tim Lam move effortlessly into the final while Clive Curnick conjured up a magnificent win in 5 sets over John Wickings in the quarter-finals. Lam allowed his opponent no opportunity to take control but Curnick put up a valiant effort but lost in 4 sets.

Remember me and or Register